The Jane Doe Novel Experiment

Creating Two New Novels. Writing One Chapter Weekly. Podcasting As I Go. Welcome to The Experiment.

The Help – Pt 3 or Thank You For Writing This

I reached page 500 and I dropped the book like a hot potato. 22 more pages left to read. This can’t be happening. It’s almost over. And I realized that this hasn’t happened to me in quite some time – I did not want the book to end.

Do I ever want a book to end? Yes! Of course. Generally, they are so plot-driven, that I just must get to the end. Who survives? Who doesn’t? What’s the next challenge? I have to know. I can’t wait to get to the end to find out.

The Help, was different. All three main characters (with emphasis on Aibileen and Minny) went straight to my heart. I enjoyed them. Their day-to-day lives, their thoughts, their goals. I cared about what they cared about and their fears became mine. To come to the end of the book was like having to say goodbye to two of my best friends who were moving away. Couldn’t we post-pone goodbye for a few more days? Hours? Minutes? Is this really going to be the last time I watch Aibileen lovingly mold Mae Mobley into a kind young woman? Or, I think about how much I’ll miss hearing Minny speak her mind. (or watch her try not to) 522 pages seemed like such a chore – especially since I didn’t want to read the book in the first place. But Stockett did an amazing job writing in a way that made me feel for the characters from the moment I met them.

I know there’s a lot of talk regarding culture/history/whatever else in the book. I truly don’t care. The story works! The characters work! I feel like she captured the essence of her characters and did so masterfully. White, black, green, it doesn’t matter. I believed every word. I was engrossed in every emotion.

So, what’s next? The movie, of course. Although, I still don’t really want to see it. I just  feel obligated to. I feel the strength of the book is the characters. Us being able to get a glimpse of everyone’s inner thoughts meant the world.  This is something the movie may not be able to portray properly, if at all. I’ve always believed that books with a lot of action like, The Hunger Games, adapt better to film than something more character-driven. I’ll let you know!

2 comments on “The Help – Pt 3 or Thank You For Writing This

  1. nmjkemppainen
    June 27, 2012

    I just started to read this book yesterday and I’m totally hooked! Amazing debut novel, with so many layers and characters who steal your heart immediately.

    • Jane Doe
      June 27, 2012

      You, my dear, are in for a treat! I couldn’t have said it better. Enjoy the read and keep me updated on your progress! I can relive it through you. =)

Leave your thoughts on the above, below. ^.^

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2012 by in For Readers and tagged , , .

Join 63 other followers

Follow the Experiment on Facebook

http://facebook.com/authorjanedoe

Email the Experiment

Comments, questions, and simple "hello's" are always welcome and always replied to. ^.^ authorjanedoeblog@gmail.com

Follow the Experiment on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Past Experiments

New Chapter Countdown

7th Release Date!August 13th, 2012
Chapter 6 is here! - Enough for Four

New Chapter Countdown

6th Release Date!August 6th, 2012
Chapter 5, Part 2 is here!
