The Jane Doe Novel Experiment

Creating Two New Novels. Writing One Chapter Weekly. Podcasting As I Go. Welcome to The Experiment.

A Narrator with a Voice

I tried explaining to my best friend that I don’t want my 3rd person narrator to be boring. Star and Philip tell their own story in Disillusioned and their first hand experience is so interesting to me because it’s in their own voices.

I want my 3rd person narrative account to also have a voice. I love that she-we decided that the narrator is a ‘she’-uses the words the character would say whose point of view she is slipping into. However, when she’s not “being” anyone, when she’s just her all-knowing self relating to us the next part of the story, I don’t want her to be boring. I don’t want her to be stuck using proper grammar just because it’s proper.

“You don’t want her to sound sterile.”

That’s why I love my best friend!Sterile is a perfect word. And the perfect word I’m trying to avoid. I want my narrator to be a bit of a character herself. A masterful storyteller. Having her own vocabulary. So NOT sterile.

2 comments on “A Narrator with a Voice

  1. ljclayton
    May 29, 2012

    Yes, no reason why the narration can’t be in the ‘voice’ of a particular character rather than the author. Adds a sense of life and cohesion.

    • Jane Doe
      May 29, 2012

      Thank you for the encouragement, ljclayton. I do want her to have a “voice”, but not one of the characters because I don’t want it coming from someone with a biased view point. (all the characters have a reason to be biased!) My aim is for it to be told from a narrator who views their story as a really good one and wants to deliver it with the naturalness of swapping stories at a backyard barbeque. =)

Leave your thoughts on the above, below. ^.^

Join 63 other followers

Follow the Experiment on Facebook

http://facebook.com/authorjanedoe

Email the Experiment

Comments, questions, and simple "hello's" are always welcome and always replied to. ^.^ authorjanedoeblog@gmail.com

Follow the Experiment on Twitter

Past Experiments

New Chapter Countdown

7th Release Date!August 13th, 2012
Chapter 6 is here! - Enough for Four

New Chapter Countdown

6th Release Date!August 6th, 2012
Chapter 5, Part 2 is here!
